Skip to Main Content

Back to Events

Women & Science Virtual Helen Dean King Award Ceremony: What the Sugar Coating on Your Cells is Trying to Tell You

Special Event
Thursday, Nov. 17, 2022 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Join us for our virtual Women and Science event!

Recognizing Outstanding Women In Biomedical Research


Carolyn Bertozzi, Ph.D., 2022 Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry, and past recipient of the National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences, the MacArthur Foundation Genius Award, and the Wolf Prize in Chemistry, will be honored with The Wistar Institute’s 2022 Helen Dean King award, celebrating outstanding women in biomedical research. Dr. Bertozzi, the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences at Stanford University, is being recognized for her work on understanding how sugars that coat our cells impact cancer and bacterial infections and for devising drug targets to combat them. 

Guest Speaker Bio:

Carolyn Bertozzi, Ph.D.-final

Dr.  Carolyn Bertozzi is the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Chemical & Systems Biology and Radiology (by courtesy) at Stanford University, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She completed her undergraduate degree in Chemistry from Harvard University in 1988 and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley in 1993. In 2022,  Dr. Bertozzi, along with colleagues Drs. K. Barry Sharpless and Morten Meldal, were honored with the 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their discovery and contributions to the field of click chemistry. 

Prof. Bertozzi’s research spans the disciplines of chemistry and biology with an emphasis on studies of cell surface glycosylation as it relates to specific diseases. Her lab focuses on profiling changes in cell surface glycosylation associated with cancer, inflammation, and bacterial infection, and leveraging this information to develop diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, most recently in the area of immuno-oncology.  She has been recognized with many honors and awards for her research accomplishments.  She is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She has been awarded the Lemelson-MIT Prize, the Heinrich Wieland Prize, and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, among many others.

The event is free and open to the public. 

Register Today