Skip to Main Content

The Wistar Institute will be closed on Wednesday, February 20, 2019 due to inclement weather.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees support Wistar’s mission to save lives through science.


Helen P. Pudlin, Esq.
Chair, Board of Trustees
Retired Executive Vice President and General Counsel, The PNC Financial Services Group

Richard M. Horowitz
Vice Chair
President, RAF Industries, Inc.

J. Evans Stacey, Esq.
Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary & Government Relations, The Wistar Institute

Joseph Trainor, CPA
Chief Financial Officer


Elizabeth McKee Anderson
Principal, Puresight Advisory LLC
Independent Board Director

Douglas S. Briggs

Ira Brind
President, Brind Investments, Inc.

Ronald L. Caplan
President, PMC Property Group, Inc.

Morton Collins, Ph.D.
Managing Partner, M. Collins Ventures LLC

Susan B. Dillon, Ph.D.
President & CEO, Aro Biotherapeutics

Brian H. Dovey
General Partner, Domain Associates

Daniel K. Fitzpatrick, C.F.A.
President & CEO, Citizens Bank of PA/NJ/DE/NY

Robert A. Fox
Chairman & CEO, RAF Industries, Inc.

John A. Fry
President, Drexel University

Joseph A. Goldblum
President, G-II Equity Investors, Inc.

Herbert Kean, M.D.

Perry A. Lerner
CEO and Chair, Crown Global Insurance Group, LLC

James W. Lovett
COO, Myoderm

Susan Schwartz McDonald, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer, NAXION

Maida R. Milone
President & CEO, Pennsylvanians for Modern Courts

Abraham L. Morris
Operating Partner, Pegasus Capital Advisors
President, Rittenhouse Advisors, LLC

Arthur M. Pappas
Managing Partner, Pappas Capital

Wendell Pritchett, Ph.D.
Provost, University of Pennsylvania 

Cavan Redmond
Partner, Zarsy, LLC

Samuel V. Rhoads
Executive Vice President, Philadelphia Industrial Development Corporation

Robert H. Rock
Chairman, MLR Holdings LLC

Gerald B. Rorer

Adele K. Schaeffer

Milton S. (Tony) Schneider
Principal & Founder, The Glenville Group

William A. Slaughter, Esq.
Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP

Judith E. Soltz, Esq.

Daniel H. Wheeler
President, Pea Vine Properties

Edward Ziff, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, New York University

Emeritus Board Members

Harold M. Davis
Chairman, Realen Properties

Peter C. Doherty, Ph.D.
Chairman, Department of Immunology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (1996)
Member, National Academy of Sciences

L. Patrick Gage, Ph.D.
Founder and President, enGage Biotech Consulting

The Honorable Harris N. Hollin

Faye Olivieri Kozich

Albert Ominsky, Esq.
Ominsky & Ominsky, P.C.

Seymour S. Preston III

Paul J. Schmitt
Managing Director, Novitas Capital

Doris Taxin

David V. Wachs